Skip to Main Content

See our latest COVID-19 updates.

Department of Biology

Faculty

Dr. Monica Frazier

Dr. Monica Frazier

Position: Interim Department Chair
Office: Jordan Hall 329
Phone: 706-568-2067
Email: frazier_monica@columbusstate.edu
Discipline: Cancer biology

Dr. Julie Ballenger

Dr. Julie Ballenger

Position: Professor
Office: Jordan Hall 333
Phone: 706-569-3015
Email: ballenger_julie@columbusstate.edu
Discipline: Botany; plant systematics; floristic surveys of habitats in Georgia, Panama, Peru and the Bahamas

Dr. Kevin Burgess

Dr. Kevin Burgess

Position: Professor
Office: Jordan Hall 324
Phone: 706-507-8266
Email: burgess_kevin@columbusstate.edu
Discipline: Botany; Evolutionary Biology; plant ecological genetics

Dr. Harlan Hendricks

Dr. Harlan Hendricks

Position: Professor
Office: Jordan Hall 338
Phone: 706-568-2069
Email: hendricks_harlan@columbusstate.edu
Discipline: Entomology; ecology and evolution of invertebrates

Dr. Daniel Holt

Dr. Daniel Holt

Position: Assistant Professor
Office: Jordan Hall 310
Phone: 706-565-3627
Email: holt_daniel1@columbusstate.edu

Dr. Kathleen Hughes

Dr. Kathleen Hughes

Position: Professor
Office: Jordan Hall 303
Phone: 706-568-2325
Email: hughes_kathleen1@columbusstate.edu
Discipline: Animal physiology; genetic basis of hypertension

Dr. Lauren King

Dr. Lauren King

Position: Associate Professor
Office: Jordan Hall 307
Phone: 706-568-2052
Email: king_lauren4@columbusstate.edu

Mrs. Elizabeth Klar

Mrs. Elizabeth Klar

Position: Lecturer / Lab Manager
Office: Jordan Hall 336
Phone: 706-568-2059
Email: klar_elizabeth@columbusstate.edu

 Brittany Moss

Brittany Moss

Position: Part-time Faculty
Office: Unknown
Email: moss_brittany1@columbusstate.edu

Dr. Jennifer Newbrey

Dr. Jennifer Newbrey

Position: Associate Professor
Office: Jordan Hall 309
Phone: 706-507-8096
Email: newbrey_jennifer@columbusstate.edu

Dr. Michael Newbrey

Dr. Michael Newbrey

Position: Lecturer
Office: Jordan Hall 357
Phone: 706-568-2300
Email: newbrey_michael@columbusstate.edu
Discipline: Ichthyology, Ecology, Fisheries, Evolution

Dr. Clifton Ruehl

Dr. Clifton Ruehl

Position: Associate Professor
Office: Jordan Hall 308
Phone: 706-565-4049
Email: ruehl_clifton@columbusstate.edu
Personal Website     

Dr. Brian Schwartz

Dr. Brian Schwartz

Position: Professor / Assistant Chair
Office: Jordan Hall 328
Phone: 706-569-3017
Email: schwartz_brian@columbusstate.edu
Discipline: Genetic ecology of plants; use of plants in remediation of contaminated soils and water

Dr. Jeffrey Zuiderveen

Dr. Jeffrey Zuiderveen

Position: Professor
Office: Jordan Hall 305
Phone: 706-569-3019
Email: zuiderveen_jeffrey@columbusstate.edu
Discipline: Toxicology